Tinnitus

The Art Assignment is an excellent project based largely on YouTube where professional artists give assignments to the audience. I’ve been following since the beginning, but I’ve never submitted anything before. This is my poem for the Quietest Place episode.

Tinnitus

“Walk to the quietest place” he said.
I would, but walking won’t help.
My whine comes with me
Growing louder as I feed it with attention.
I can go to the quiet places
But I won’t find silence there.

“I would if I could” I said,
But would I?
I didn’t meet in the middle.
But here I am doing by not-doing
Because I hear what isn’t there.

Leave a Reply

